After The Magic

After The Magic


bandcamp | itunes | spotify

To purchase CD add to cart

Add To Cart

After The Magic
release date: March 11, 2016 

Gamelan Dharma Swara -Balinese Semara Dana Gamelan
Dewa Ketut Alit -kendang 
Josh Graham -guitar 
Desmond White -bass, guitar 
Matthew Jodrell -piano 
Guilhem Flouzat -drums 
Nerissa Campbell -voice, piano, guitar 

all songs by Nerissa Campbell (ASCAP)


Nerissa Campbell’s fourth studio album, After The Magic (Crooked Mouth Music), is a moody dreamscape reminiscent of a literary roman-a-clef. It features Balinese gamelan, a jazz trio, pensive solo piano pieces, and fleeting guitars woven together with Campbell’s melancholy vocals. 

The mix of musical genres explore Nerissa's sense cultural belonging and displacement, and create a unique and surprising album. Not easily classified as jazz, singer-songwriter, or traditional Balinese gamelan, and yet subtly all of these things, Campbell's songs use Balinese gamelan gong cycles and modes, lyrical stories, improvisation and jazz harmonies, and non-vocal compositions that combined create a sense of space and breath. Cycling and repeating, ebbing and flowing, the songs of After The Magic inform and are informed by each other. 

After The Magic features Gamelan Dharma Swara, Josh Graham (A Storm of Light), Balinese composer and musician Dewa Ketut Alit, and Campbell’s longtime band Desmond White, Matthew Jodrell and Guilhem Flouzat. Campbell received an Australian Arts Council New Works grant for After The Magic.

After The Magic | Live at LPR
featuring Gamelan Dharma Swara

Kopi Hitam | Official Video

Hazy Walk | official video